Eligible countries

EU Member States participate fully in all actions of the Erasmus+ Programme. In addition, in accordance with article 19 of the Erasmus+ Regulation the following third countries are associated to the programme:

  • Members of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) which are members of the European Economic Area (EEA): Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein;
  • Acceding countries, candidate countries and potential candidates: North Macedonia, Republic of Türkiye and Republic of Serbia;

The EU Member States and the above mentioned third countries associated to the programme will be hereafter called “EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme”.

In addition in accordance with article 20 of the Regulation legal entities from third countries non-associated to the Programme can be eligible in Erasmus+ actions in duly justified cases and in the Union interest (hereafter called “third countries not associated to the Programme”).

The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

Member States of the European Union (EU)


Third countries associated to the Programme

North MacedoniaSerbia

Third countries not associated to the Programme

To learn more about third countries not associated to the Programme, see the English extract in the Erasmus+ Guide at the link at the end of the article.

Requirements regarding visa and residence permits

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the EU Member States and third countries associated to the Programme or third country not associated to the Programme hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of all the participating organisations to ensure that the authorisations required (short or long-term stay visas or residence permits) are in order before the planned activity takes place. It is strongly recommended that the authorisations are requested from the competent authorities well in advance, since the process may take several weeks. National Agencies and the Executive Agency may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The EU Immigration Portal contains general information on visa and residence permits, for both short-term and long-term stays.

From the Erasmus+Programme Guide 2023 online version: Eligible countries | Erasmus+ (europa.eu)

Leave a Reply